THE TREASURES OF GÂTINAIS VAL-DE-LOING!
A castle, an abbey, a church, a museum …
But also, a mill, a tower, a wash house, a well…
So many places that we invite you to discover. All these treasures, sometimes well hidden, which reveal the identity of our territory : so many places to discover, to find relaxation and to share with friends or family.
The castle moat, fed by the Fusin, already exists around an initial 14th century castle.
Since the 18th century, it has been used for weekly markets and fairs.
The wash house dating from the 19th century is located on the road to Ferrières.
Since 1994 this museum tells us about the adventure of the agricultural machine.
In the fourteenth century, Château-Landon was one of the 17 drapery cities of the kingdom of France.
Installed on the city's defenses next to the South Poterne which is an open passage in the ramparts leading to the Charcoal Valley, the Saint-Thugal church is undoubtedly its oldest monument.
The hospice built in 1178 by Guillaume de Blois, archbishop of Sens served as a refuge for the poor and a resting place for pilgrims who joined the road to Saint-Jacques de Compostelle.
Nestled at the bottom of the Loing Valley. Set of eight polishers in a small chaos of very hard sandstone rocks with some pebble inclusions. The polishers were used to polish axes previously cut in the Neolithic period.
An invitation to dream during a lovely walk !
Dating from the middle of the 12th century, this vestige of an imposing Cluniac abbey is one of the most beautiful monuments of the city. Very damaged, it was reduced in the 16th century to a priory.
A lesson in masterful medieval architecture blending Carolingian, Romanesque and Gothic styles.
The North Postern Gate descends into the dry valley.
The Madeleine Tower is one of the towers of the rampart that Charles VI authorized to the bourgeois of Château-Landon.
This beautiful civil monument in the open city served as a bureau de change, of which only the porch remains today with its 14th century gable and Renaissance-style facade windows.
What we see today is just a remaining of the origins, monks had to face hard times, wars and realms adversities.
A nice curiosity on the Loing canal.
Here is a facade of a monastery of women which enjoyed a great reputation and which had the privilege of receiving the queens of France.
This open-air museum refurbished by the Departement Council is the setting for 56 bronze sculptures.
The castle was built in 1150.
The "Champarts" and the "Recette" were the ancient commons of the castle.
Saint-Martin Church is located in the heart of the village of Egreville.
The covered market replaces the one that disappeared in the fire of 1282 at the end of the 15th century.
Although the legends of the last centuries have given it its name, the site of the "Cave aux Fées" dates back to the 1st century AD.
The church of St Anne dates from the 13th century.
At the exit of Lorrez-le-Bocage-Préaux (77) on the D 69 in the direction of Paley, you will see the roof of a large washhouse on your right.
The former Royal Abbey of Notre Dame de Cercanceaux was founded by the Cistercians in 1181, thanks to gifts from the Cléments, the lords of Mez-le-Maréchal, and King Philippe Auguste.
The Saint Clair church was erected at the end of the 12th century.